Scratchie\’s World

School Done!!! Other stuff in life to write about now….

Interesting Observation

Is it me or does it seem that Americans are among the most unsportsmanlike people on the planet?  Before I go any further let me offer congrats to Usain and Shelly-Ann, Sherone and Keron on their recent wins at the Beijing Olympics. Well done guys!!!

I was taken aback by the US team’s reaction to the wins. Everything from “false start” (which would have been their offence by-the-way)  to suspicion of drug usuage to interviews by media personnel proclaiming and highlighting the “faults” of the Jamaican athletes. I defend the athletes because I am Jamaican. I defend them because I see them doing nothing wrong and I defend them because I think they deserve the praise they get.

It erks me to hear the negative criticism from our American (and Trinidadian) conterparts simply because they have not done as well in a particular event. Are the 4 or 5 medals that we have won that critical to your total of 70-odd that you have amassed that you find it so difficult to say well done to such a small country.

I dismiss the remarks of Ato Boldon as simply the utterings of someone who has nothing better to do and whose only interest is to continue the ongoing rivalry between our two Carib nations. His comments warrant no further attention.

On a positive note…..CONGRATS!!!!!! especially to Shelly-Ann. I haven’t seen a happier person than her when she won her race. That smile is the smile of the Olympics.

August 19, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. oh you heard ato’s crap about Bolt last night too. i find it funny that he feeding into NBC’s hating on anyone not american.

    the americans just cant stand being second fiddle especially to a likkle island and third world country. how dare you upset the american applecart!

    Comment by jdid | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hi,

    Let us celebrate forget about the haters. Nig up Jamaica.

    PS I am new to this blogging thing. Please check my blog anf give me some thoughts.

    Numawalali

    Comment by Numalali | August 19, 2008 | Reply

  3. It’s called the ‘sour-grapes syndrome’.

    Comment by Jamaican Dawta | August 25, 2008 | Reply

  4. I am SO glad that you called out that ol’ fake sell out At Bolden! Lawd…griping bout “Showboating” when nobody used to row a boat harder that Ato when he was running! Now, he does remind me of “Carlton” from Fresh Prince! Grr!!

    No one had anything to say when Michael Phelps was standing by the pool, beating his chest! Hmprh.

    Nice to see you back ; )

    Comment by Mighty Afroditee | August 26, 2008 | Reply

  5. Bless mi eyesight

    Agreed re Shelly Ann..that was joy

    Comment by abeni | August 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. The americans reaction don’t surprise me one bit. What made me want to slap somebody was that breadfruit Ato Bolden or whatever his name is talking about us and the Caribbean the way he did. I guess that’s what happens when you become a slave to the white man’s dollar. Sad. Sad. Sad.

    Big up Jamaica to di worl’.

    Comment by Cool Destiny | September 2, 2008 | Reply

  7. Don’t tek dem on. Green with envy.

    Please change the link to my blog. I am now a dot net instead of a dot com.

    Comment by Yamfoot | October 11, 2008 | Reply

  8. I agree with Jdid. I’m American, but sometimes our atheletes, who are use to being superior in some sports, get too full of themselves.

    Comment by Quel | October 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

