Scratchie\’s World

School Done!!! Other stuff in life to write about now….

The Battle’s Over the Victory won……

Well my stint at college is finally over. As of the 3rd of November I am officially out on my rear end from school. I am now, for all intents and purpose, a university graduate. The valedictorian cried as she dedicated her degree to her mother. I dedicate mine to my family and friends who stuck with me through the fight.  All I will say right now is that I’m grateful.

It also with some amzement that I was also awarded the the only “1st class” honours degree in my major. I say this against the background of being 1) an older student and 2) studying part-time 3) and finally a male student (was just reminded by a friend that usually females dominate the scholastic arena). I’m happy. All the hard work and dedication to the task paid off and I can see the results.

Congrats to all who graduated recently (and along the same lines as my edit, there were notably quite a few males who received 1st class honours in their courses of study, to the point where the ladies were all but overshadowed at the function).

November 12, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

58 Comments »

  1. Congratulations, my brother! Nuff respect! You get first class and thought it wierd? I don’t. You know say life hard out deh even more than the average “straight-outta-high-school” student and you made sure to apply yourself!
    The same thing happened to me. Unfortunately, it really hasn’t lead to the vast increases in my earning power that I was hoping for, at least not as yet. I guess its because I haven’t really tried to push myself up into the upper management positions. It HAS made people more ready to employ me, however.
    Lets see how it works out for you.

    Comment by mad bull | November 12, 2007 | Reply

  2. Wow! Congrats Scratchie. Way to Go man! I did see on the news that UWI’s graduation was held recently and was wondering why I thought it was later down in November. It’s Human Resource right? You go!

    Comment by Gela Words | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  3. No, MB, I kinda knew I was working towards it but usually the 1st class awards go to the full-timers, and out of a class group of about 70 I was the only one from either part time or evening to receive that classification.

    @Gela yes Gela, it’s in HR.

    Thank you both.

    Comment by scratchie | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  4. Congratulations!!!!! (A big Campie Hug). That’s one less burden to contend with. Now tell me why does UWI have such strange sumesters. graduation in November? Wha happen tuh June and December?

    Comment by Campfyah | November 13, 2007 | Reply

  5. Congratssssssssssssss! Happy for you

    Comment by kami | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  6. Thanks all. @Camp…the universities have graduation in November to accommodate those students who may have resits during the summer.
    Utech actually has a summer semmester running from May to August. Exams are held in December so to avoid the clash it’s either October or November.

    Comment by scratchie | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  7. Congrats, Most Hon. Scratchie, wid nuff distinction!

    Comment by Melody | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  8. That’s pretty impressive! Well done! What are you going to do with all the spare time you’ll have now from not studying? Or will it be time to do the masters now….

    Comment by Kingston Girl | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  9. Congratulations! I am so looking forward to that day hopefully in about 6 months for me.

    Comment by Remnants | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  10. Hey! Way to go! 😀

    Comment by Ann (Mobay DP) | November 14, 2007 | Reply

  11. Congrats Scratch…..big up and nuff respec!

    Comment by Dr. D. | November 16, 2007 | Reply

  12. Congrats Scratchie! I didn’t go to graduation, I guess I despise that university too much to pay a cent more to go to graduation.

    Comment by Stunner | November 17, 2007 | Reply

  13. Whoooo! Congratulations, bro! The ONLY 1st class honours in your major, huh? Proud a yu 🙂

    Comment by Jamaican Dawta | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  14. Congrats, Fabulous achievement!

    Comment by Cranky Putz | November 19, 2007 | Reply

  15. Congratulations!!I noticed that you did not specify what you majored in.Wishing you the best in your future endeavours.

    Comment by Esteban Agosto Reid | November 25, 2007 | Reply

  16. Looking for an earpiece for work and discovered
    this post, it is so baffling, all i know is that i would like a icom earpiece, your article has
    helped but i want to investigate somewhat more!

    Comment by http://tedxseoul.com/boards/odp_community/117130 | October 18, 2013 | Reply

  17. Awfully exciting short article

    Comment by Morgan Stewart | March 28, 2014 | Reply

  18. Hi, fantastic advice and an interesting article, it is going to be
    exciting if this is still the situation in a
    few months time

    Comment by Savannah Price | April 30, 2014 | Reply

  19. Hello thankyou on your guidance on this article it is truly constructive, we have been looking for advice for a while and this has been helpful for us
    to read, looking for a two way radio to suit what we want isn’t
    straightforward. Thankyou again

    Comment by Nortech-Radiocomms.Co.Uk | May 13, 2014 | Reply

  20. Very exciting critique

    Comment by motorola radio earpiece | June 14, 2014 | Reply

  21. Very exciting critique

    Comment by earpieces for motorola | June 14, 2014 | Reply

  22. I searched for the article title and discovered this, never thought i’d find my answer

    Comment by motorola radio earpiece | June 14, 2014 | Reply

  23. I searched for the article title and found this, great read

    Comment by Zoe Woods | June 20, 2014 | Reply

  24. I seldom discuss these articles, but I thought this on deserved a thumb up

    Comment by Jack Hamilton | June 21, 2014 | Reply

  25. Very exciting piece

    Comment by Samuel Hughes | June 22, 2014 | Reply

  26. I searched for this title and found this, great read

    Comment by Sofia Adams | June 22, 2014 | Reply

  27. Exceptionally interesting short article

    Comment by Amelia Bryant | June 22, 2014 | Reply

  28. Excellent Piece of writing

    Comment by Hunter Ross | June 22, 2014 | Reply

  29. I very rarely comment on these items, but I thought this on deserved
    a big thankyou

    Comment by Jack Hernandez | June 22, 2014 | Reply

  30. Exceptionally interesting object

    Comment by Carter Evans | June 24, 2014 | Reply

  31. Magnificent object, I loved the headset echo part

    Comment by Ethan James | June 25, 2014 | Reply

  32. Extremely interesting critique

    Comment by Ryan Sanders | June 25, 2014 | Reply

  33. Hi, brilliant recommendation and an interesting article post, it’s going to
    be exciting if this is still the state of affairs in a few years time

    Comment by Zoe Cruz | June 25, 2014 | Reply

  34. Hi, important recommendation and an fascinating article post,
    it will be exciting if this is still the state
    of affairs in a few months time

    Comment by Jack Harrison | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  35. I hardly ever comment on these items, but I assumed this on deserved a big thankyou

    Comment by William Bennett | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  36. I hardly ever comment on these articles, but I thought this
    on deserved a thumb up

    Comment by Riley Clark | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  37. Great article, I loved the headphone wireless part

    Comment by Liam Adams | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  38. Profound article, I liked the earphone necklace section

    Comment by Avery Adams | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  39. Impressive Piece

    Comment by Gavin Howard | June 26, 2014 | Reply

  40. Magnificent object, I liked the headphone impedance bit

    Comment by Victoria Patterson | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  41. Hello, great recommendation and an exciting article, it is going to be interesting
    if this is still the situation in a few years time

    Comment by Jackson Phillips | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  42. Terrific Article

    Comment by Leah Anderson | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  43. Brilliant article, I enjoyed the earphone attachments bit

    Comment by Connor Nelson | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  44. I hardly ever discuss these posts, but I thought this on deserved a well done

    Comment by Emma Lewis | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  45. Well I searched for the article title and discovered this, great read

    Comment by Mia Hill | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  46. Profound Article

    Comment by Benjamin Morris | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  47. Exceptionally exciting piece

    Comment by Benjamin Foster | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  48. Awfully interesting article

    Comment by Mason Diaz | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  49. Hi, fantastic suggestion and an fascinating article, it is going to be interesting if
    this is still the situation in a few years time

    Comment by Liam Griffin | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  50. Hi, important information and an exciting article post,
    it’ll be exciting if this is still the state of affairs in a few years time

    Comment by Madison Miller | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  51. I hardly ever discuss these posts, but I thought this on deserved a
    thumb up

    Comment by Mason Washington | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  52. Hello, important suggestion and an interesting article post, it’s going to be fascinating
    if this is still the case in a few months time

    Comment by Elizabeth Harris | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  53. I searched for this title and discovered this, didn’t think i’d find my answer

    Comment by Matthew Peterson | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  54. Hello, great information and an interesting article post, it will be fascinating if this is still the situation in a few years time

    Comment by Addison Sullivan | June 27, 2014 | Reply

  55. Hello, important recommendation and an interesting
    post, it will be interesting if this is still the case in a few
    years time

    Comment by James Simmons | June 28, 2014 | Reply

  56. I searched for the article title and found this, didn’t think i’d find my answer

    Comment by Claire Russell | June 28, 2014 | Reply

  57. Brilliant Read, I loved the headphone design section

    Comment by Harper Hill | June 28, 2014 | Reply

  58. Hi, great recommendation and an exciting post, it is going to be
    exciting if this is still the case in a
    few years time

    Comment by Amelia Cox | June 28, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

